How to Pamper Yourself, Without the Guilt

pamper yourselfI’m a firm believer that your personal happiness is dependent only upon yourself.  You have the power to create happy, indulgent, pampering experiences.  I, for one, prefer to be happy and I have no problem with and feel no guilt for making it happen.

I love flowers and do truly appreciate when my husband brings them home, BUT I am fully capable of buying them for myself.  They are no less beautiful if I am the one who purchases them.  So when I spotted these dozen peach roses sitting sadly in a clearance bin by themselves, I knew today was a good day to pamper myself.

peach rosesSo for all of you tightwads out there, and those of you who feel guilty about spending money on flowers or yourself (stop that!), remember to check the clearance bins at your local grocer.  These beauties were only $3.50.  I love them as much, or more actually, than if they were $100 roses.

While I was already shopping for myself, I went ahead and bought a new box of chocolates.  I am a sucker for anything chocolate.  These were  a little pricier than I usually get, but who am I kidding? I am pampering myself today! If you already have grapes on hand, by all means rinse them off and slowly feed them to yourself as if you were the queen of Egypt.  You really don’t have to make a special purchase just for yourself.  If you put a little effort into the items you are already buying, you can make them feel special with no guilt attached.

chocolatesgrapesOnce home, I made a playlist on my phone to listen to as I pampered myself with chocolates and grapes, smelling and admiring my peach roses.  I downloaded a few of the top 50 pop songs from Billboard.com.  I started with Adele’s Hello.  I’m sure you didn’t see that one coming did you?  Okay, so I listened to it a few times…in a row.  Here are a few songs on my Pamper Me playlist:

pamper me playlistAfter a few repeats of Adele’s “Hello” and Demi Lovato’s “Confident” I am ready for my drink.  Since I am pampering myself I make my all time favorite alcoholic beverage.  It doesn’t taste a bit like alcohol, therefore it is potent, perfect and pampering.

It is called Liquid Marijuana.  Here’s the recipe:

Liquid Marijuana

  • 1.5 ounce Captain Morgan Spiced Rum
  • 1.5 ounce Blue Curacao liqueur
  • 1.5 ounce Malibu Coconut Rum
  • 1.5 ounce Midori Melon Liqueur
  •  6 ounces Pineapple Juice

Pour all ingredients in a tall glass or shaker, top with more pineapple juice if you deem necessary. Shake vigourously.  Serve in an awesome glass. Drink slowly.

Here is a recipe for a non-alcoholic beverage with ingredients you probably already have at home. Served in an elegant glass, you will feel like Cinderella herself.

Cinderella:

  • 3 ounces pineapple juice
  • 3 ounces orange juice
  • lime or lemon wedges

Mix the liquids together with ice in a shaker or large glass.  Pour slowly into a fancy glass. Garnish with lime or lemon wedges.

Time for a long soak in the tub.  Don’t forget your drink and your music.

Obviously, I brought my roses along also.  I lit a few candles around the sink and on the edge of the bathtub.  Not only do I like to pamper myself but I guess I’m good at romancing myself as well. LOL

I’m treating myself with Lush’s Lord of Misrule bath bomb today.  Partly because it’s green and matches my drink and partly because I know what this bomb is capable of…I’ve seen videos.

Lush Lord of MisruleCue Adele.  Let the water run. Watch the magic happen.  Take another sip.

Lush Lord of MisruleYou can use whatever bath product you have at home.  I realize some bath products these days are quite pricey, but I urge you to splurge on yourself every once in a while.  You deserve it!

From my bath to yours, I hope you have enjoyed today’s post.  I hope that you, too, take the time to pamper yourself, enjoy a long hot bath, and realize that you have all the power to make yourself happy.  Don’t wait for someone to do it for you!

liquid marijuana and bath

2 thoughts on “How to Pamper Yourself, Without the Guilt”

Leave a Reply

